CONFIRM YOUR WINDOWS LIVE ACCOUNT??
If you have been defrauded by these scammers you should contact your local police.
From Customer Care (roz1970@hotmail.com)
Turning a new leaf…
Welcome to your newly designed monthly newsletter, and with the new season comes a newsletter design that better matches the new look of Hotmail ®
Dear Account User
This Email is from Hotmail Customer Care and we are sending it to every Hotmail Email User Accounts Owner for safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts so we are shutting down some Hotmail accounts and your account was amoung those to be deleted. We are sending this email to you so that you can verify and let us know if you still want to use this account. If you are still interested please confirm your account by filling the space below. Your User name, password, date of birth and your country information would be needed to verify your account.
Due to the congestion in all Hotmail users and removal of all unused Hotmail Accounts, Hotmail would be shutting down all unused Accounts, You will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after clicking the reply button, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.
Name: ……………………..
User name: ……………………..
Password: …………………….
Date of Birth: …………………
Country or Territory: …………
After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to this request. We apologize for any inconveniences.
Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.
Sincerely,
Windows Live Alert Team
Microsoft Corporation
——————————————————————————–
Hotmail: Powerful Free email with security by Microsoft. Get it now.
——————————————————————————–
Hotmail: Powerful Free email with security by Microsoft. Get it now.
——————————————————————————–
Hotmail: Powerful Free email with security by Microsoft. Get it now.
——————————————————————————–
Hotmail: Powerful Free email with security by Microsoft. Get it now.
(link to http://clk.atdmt.com/GBL/go/201469230/direct/01/)
——————————————————————————–
Your E-mail and More On-the-Go. Get Windows Live Hotmail Free. Sign up now.

HOW CAN I APPROACH TO YOU AND HOW CAN I GUESS MY LOTTERY MONEY IF I WILL NOT COME WITH YOU THEN WHAT I CAN DO PLEASE INFORM ME I DO NOT KNOW MUCH MORE ABOUT THIS LOTTERY VISA AT WHICH DATE I WILL COME I AM STUDENT OF BCS STUDENT AND IF MY EXAM START I WILL NOT GO WITH YOU THEN WHAT CAN I DO PLEASE INFORM ME ALL ABOUT THIS.HOW MANY DAYS WE EXPAND IN THIS FUND I DO NOT KNOW HOW CAN I FIND YOU
THE COCA COLA COMPANY OFFICIAL PRIZE NOTIFICATION
We are pleased to inform you of the result of the just concluded annual final draws held on the the (23rd
of March, 2010) by Coca-Cola in conjunction with the South African Tobacco Worldwide Promotion, your email was among the 20 Lucky winners who won £1, 000.000.00 each.
THE COCA COLA COMPANY PROMOTION
However the results were released on the 25th
of March, 2010 and your email was attached to ticket number (7PWYZ2010) and ballot number (BT: 12052009/20) The online draws was conducted by a random selection of email addresses from an exclusive list of (29,031) E-mail addresses of individuals and corporate bodies picked by an advanced automated random computer search from the internet. However, no tickets were sold but all email addresses were assigned to different ticket numbers for representation and privacy.
The selection process was carried out through random selection in our computerized email selection machine (TOPAZ) from a database of over 250,000 email addresses drawn from all the continents of the world This Lottery is approved by the South African Gaming Board and also Licensed by the the International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR).This lottery is the 3rd of its kind and we intend to sensitize the public.
In other to claim your £1, 000.000.00 prize winning, which has been deposited in a designated bank? However, you will have to fill the form below and send it to the Promotion manager of THE COCA COLA COMPANY for verification and then you will be directed to the bank for the transfer of £1, 000.000.00 in cash into your account in your country,
NAME:………………………………. AGE:..22……………………………….. SEX:………………MALE…………………. ADDRESS:SAKHAKOT TEHSIL DARGAI DISTRICT MALAKAND NWFP PAKISTAN…………………………. EMAIL:..FARHAD_BCS009@YAHOO.COM……………………………. PHONE:….+923339471558…………………………. OCCUPATION:.STUDENT…………………… COUNTRY:…PAKISTAN……………………….
Please you are advice to complete the form and send it immediately to our Promotion manager through email for prompt collection of your fund from the designated bank.
(CONTACT
his is an old, old scam. Delete it. Ignore it. Do not follow its instructions or your account will be hacked or your identity stolen.
Clear enough?
Apparently not, since I keep getting asked about this scam over and over and over again.
And it’s not even that good a scam.
Let me walk through the many ways it’s so obviously bogus.
•
By far the single most obvious and telltale sign that this is a bogus scam?
The English is horrible!
“This is a classic ‘phishing’ scam.”
The entire message is littered with grammatical errors and other problems. Sure, official emails often have occasional mistakes; it happens. But an official communication from a huge U.S. based corporation is not going to be anywhere near this atrocious.
Let’s look at some grammatical specifics and some of the many other tell-take signs in the part of the email we’ve seen so far:
WINDOW TEAM: There is no “Window Team”. The product would be “WindowS”, with an S. And email about what is now called Windows Live Hotmail would not come from the Windows Team, but from the Windows Live team – they are distinct teams.
*****@hotmail.com: the “From:” address, which I’ve obfuscated here, was obviously an email address of a random person, not a Microsoft employee. How do I know this? The email address was the classic name-digit-digit form that people use when they can’t get just “name” as their email address. You think Microsoft employees need to do this? They use either official email addresses like “support” or “customerservice”, not individuals, and – ironically – they don’t usually use hotmail accounts to do it. Microsoft employees are typically @microsoft.com.
VERIFY YOUR HOTMAIL ACCOUNT NOW TO AVOID IT CLOSED !!! ALL CAPS. Official emails do not use ALL CAPS this much. It represents shouting, and is considered very rude. An official business email would never use all caps to this degree.
VERIFY YOUR HOTMAIL ACCOUNT NOW TO AVOID IT CLOSED !!! Horrible English: to avoid it being closed.
Some more tidbits from the rest of the message:
This Email is from Hotmail, Msn and Live Customer Care and
we are sending it to every Email User Accounts Owner for
safety. we are having congestions due to the anonymous
registration of accountso we are shutting down some
accounts and your account was among those to be deleted. We
are sending this email to you so that you can verify and let
us know if you still want to use this account. If you are
still interested please confirm your account by filling the
space below.Your User name, password, date of birth and your
country information would be needed to verify your account.
I just can’t list the many, many grammatical errors in that paragraph. It was clearly written by someone who does not speak English.
” Hotmail, Msn and Live Customer Care” – uh, no. “Hotmail”, maybe. “MSN Hotmail” if this was two years old. “Windows Live”, not “Live”. In fact, the product name is “Windows Live Hotmail”, and any official email from Microsoft can be reasonably expected to get their own product name correct.
Due to the congestion in all Hotmail ,Msn and Live users
and removal of all unused Accounts, we would be shutting
down all unused Accounts, You will have to confirm your
E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after
clicking the reply button, or your account will be
suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.
Windows Live Hotmail already has a policy and procedure for pruning unused accounts. All you need to do is login periodically, nothing more, nothing less.
* Username: …………………………
* Password: …………………………..
* Date of Birth: ……………………….
* Country Or Territory: …………….
No one will ever ask you to email in your password. No one. Not ever. Never.
Next to the horrible English, this is, by far, the most glaring example that this is a scam. You’re being asked to email your account login ID and password to a random email address. Don’t do it. You will lose your account if you do.
After following the instructions in the sheet, your account
will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks
for your attention to this request. We apologize for any
inconveniences.
Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his/her
account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose
his or her account permanently.
Sincerely,
The Windows Live Team
Microsoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA 98052
Besides the continued bad English and bizarre spacing that’s present throughout the message, this is just bogus fluff to make it look legitimate. I’m surprised that they finally got the product team name correct, but the fact that the product name changes throughout the message is another sign that whomever wrote this didn’t really know what they were doing.
This is a classic “phishing” scam. It’s point is to fool you into divulging your account information to someone, who can then steal your account and cause you a lot of grief.
And as bad as this one is – and trust me, particularly if you don’t speak English natively, this one is really, really bad – people fall for it. Every day.
Don’t be one of them.